Lights down low

I live in California. For those of you not from ’round these parts, that means that we get these lovely things called rolling blackouts.  At about 7:00 (read also: the goddamn middle of class) we had a blackout.

Everyone: “Err… should we…”

Andre: “KEEP GOING I WILL BE THE TIMER, FIND YOUR PARTNER, BEEEEP.”

Everyone:

The lights never did come back on. We trained for a good hour in the dark. Getting changed afterwards was also interesting.

On another note, I am feeling so good these days. I finally feel like I can do things against my teammates, and I am actually getting submissions and good positions occasionally now.  I got quite a stern lecture when the professor got back about using more x-guard and more inverse de la Riva/half spider, and you can’t say no when the professor tells you something.  It’s been quite helpful and I’ve been sweeping the hell out of everyone. Only problem is that sometimes I get stuck in the kimura and my feet are a little too exposed for my liking. Also, if they DO manage to pass, they’re right on top of me, which is no good. I guess that means I can’t let anyone pass, eh?

I’ve also been working on this really awesome guard pass recently, and it’s been working on everyone. I love it. I’ve discovered that to pass properly you need to really work with your head. This was a major breakthrough for me in the realm of passing tight; previously, I was training with people who I didn’t really need to pass tight against. Now it’s very necessary and I had the hardest time with it for a long time. It’s finally starting to make sense now, though.

Leave a comment

Filed under BJJ life, Technique, Training

Leave a comment